By: John L. Kiener, General Sessions Judge, Washington County

(This article is compiled from the original information)

This is Part III of the information prepare by Linda M. Williams entitled: “State of Tennessee, Individual County Records Information County records Information Sources.” Part I contained a listing of Anderson County through Franklin County. In Part II, you found listed Gibson County through Macon County.

     In her letter to county officials, Ms. Williams explained the purpose of her preparation of the county-to-county information as follows: “Occasionally, your office may receive inquiries about documents which may not be in your custody. Enclosed herewith is a list of individuals who can be contacted for information concerning the records of many Tennessee counties.”

     In my opinion, genealogists will find such a list invaluable in their search for various courthouse records. If you find any of the lists contained in the various parts of this article to be in error, please write to the address of the Jonesborough Genealogical Society. Also, if you feel there are county resources that have not been listed, please let the Society know the names of other individuals who will assist with information of use to genealogists.

     Madison County – Joe Gaffney, Circuit Court Clerk, Madison County Courthouse, Jackson, TN 38301, phone 901-423-6041; and Freddie Pruitt, County Clerk, Madison County Courthouse, Jackson, TN 38301, phone 901-423-6091.

     Marion County – Odell Minter, Marion County Clerk, Jasper, TN 37347, phone 615-942-2515.

     Marshall County – Tommy Higdon, County Clerk, Marshall County Courthouse, Lewisburg, TN 37901, phone 615-359-1072; and Sarah Brigham, Chairperson, County Records Commission, 224 3rd Ave., N., Lewisburg, TN 37901, phone 615-359-2383.

     Maury County – Mrs. Jack Lightfoot, County Historian, Fairview Dr., Mt. Pleasant, TN 33874, phone 615-379-3092.

     McMinn County – Helen Haskins, McMinn County Clerk, McMinn County Courthouse, Athens, TN 37303, phone 615-745-4440; FAX 615-745-1507.

     McNairy County – Houston Thrasher, County Executive, McNairy County Courthouse, Selmer, TN 38875, phone 901-645-3472; and Tony Prather, Register of Deeds, McNairy County Courthouse, Selmer, TN 38375, phone 901-645-3656.

     Meigs County – Mrs. Gloria Schouggins, President, Meigs Co. Historical Society, Rt. 2, Box 544 A, Decatur, TN 37322, phone 615-334-9322; and Willie M. Ashley, Member, Meigs Co. Historical Society, Rt. 3, Box 193, Decatur, TN 37322, phone 615-334-5382.

     Monroe County – Mrs. William (Gwen) Starnes, Monroe County Historian, 3405 College St., Madisonville, TN 37354, phone 615-442-9823; and Ms. Lynn McConkey, Genealogist, County Clerk’s Office, J.P. Kennedy Bldg., Madisonville, TN 37354, phone 615-442-5948 or 615-442-2220.

     Montgomery County – Joyce Norfleet, Register of Deeds, Chairman, Public Records Commission, Montgomery County Courthouse, Clarksville, TN 37040, phone 615-648-5713, FAX 615-553-5150; and Irene Griffey, Certified Genealogist, Public Records Commission, Griffey & Associates, 1202 Madison St., Clarksville, TN 37040, phone 615-647-3379.

     Moore County – Shirley Cato, Genealogist-Historian, Powell Rd., Tullahoma, TN 37388, phone 615-455-0816; and Betty Robertson, Librarian, Moore County Public Library, Rt. 1, Lynchburg, TN 37352, phone 615-759-7285.

     Morgan County – Mr. Donald Todd, Morgan County Historian, P.O. Box 331, Wartburg, TN 37887, phone 615-346-3113.

     Obion County – Vollie Jean Boehms, County Clerk, Obion County Clerk’s Office, Courthouse, Room 102, Union City, TN 38361, phone 901-885-9351.

     Overton County – Hugh Ogletree, Jr., Room 212, Overton Courthouse Annex, Livingston, TN 38570, phone 615-823-2631.

     Perry County – Clint Liverman, County Courthouse, Linden, TN 37096, phone 615-589-2216; and Jane Lewis, County Clerk, P.O. Box 58, Linden, TN 37906, phone 615-589-2219.

     Pickett County – Richard Pierce, County Historian, pickett Library, Rt. 1, Byrdstown, TN 38549, phone 615-864-3323; and Jack Whittenberg, County Judge Executive, Pickett County Courthouse, Byrdstown, TN 38549, phone 615-864-3798.

     Polk County – Hoyt T. Firestone, County Executive, P.O. Box 128, Benton, TN 37307, phone 615-338-4527.

     Putnam County – Ruth Ann Woolbright, County, Probate, Juvenile Court Clerk, Maintains Probate, Juvenile, and Marriage Records, Cookeville, TN 38501, phone 615-526-7106; Charles Vaughn, Clerk & Master, Chancery Court, Cookeville, TN 38501, phone 615-526-6321; and Lewis Coomer, Circuit Court Clerk, Circuit, Criminal and General Sessions Courts, Cookeville, TN 38501, phone 615-528-1508.

     Rhea County – Phil Swafford, Attorney-at-Law, Chairman, Rhea County Records Committee, 115 W. Second Ave., Dayton, TN 37321, phone 615-775-1621.

     Roane County – Sandra Hamlett, Records Clerk, County Executive’s Office, P.O. Box 643, Kingston, TN 37763, phone 615-376-5578; and Ken Yager, County Executive, P.O. Box 643, Kingston, TN 37763.

     Robertson County – Yolanda Reid, County Historian, Robertson County Archives, County Annex Bldg., Springfield, TN 37172.

     Rutherford County – Susan Daniels, Secretary, Old Records Committee, P.O. Box 960, Murfreesboro, TN 37133-0960, phone 615-893-8300; and Earl Pleasant, County Archivist, Rutherford County Courthouse, Murfreesboro, TN 37130, phone 615-898-7873.

     Scott County – Dwight Murphy, County Executive, Huntsville, TN 37756, phone 615-663-2355; and Rick Hall, Finance Director, Finance Dept., Huntsville, TN 37756, phone 615-663-3460.

     The list of Tennessee counties and the persons to contact for records information will conclude with Part IV in the next installment.